March 31 2013 – sigh, puppets and books, end of vacation

What a marvelous Passover break!

judih by jeremy

judih by jeremy

The gift of time.

A chance to see my children. All of them!

An opportunity to be together with family for a few hours of laughter, wine and food in the location where I first arrived back 35 years ago.

A chance to meet up with writers and friends.

A moment to think (about things other than how to revive a half-comatose student population.) A glimpse of life within walls other than those heavily fortified, in rooms with windows, a chance to sing into nothingness.

Time to eat as I wish, as much or as little as I choose.

The possiblity of long walks with my partner

Time to be with no constant scheduling.

A present of a day to venture forth into the unknown metropolis of Holon to visit the Holon Puppet Center.

To see puppets of sorts and forms that were made by those who love to make them. To see a school where learning the art of puppetry is celebrated.

To visit Design Museum in Holon. To walk through the visuals of Lea Gottlieb and her teams of creators. To feel intentional building design.

Design Museum Holon - Lea Gottlieb

Design Museum Holon – Lea Gottlieb

A time for one-on-one with my eldest daughter.

Today, as I sense these days winding down, I see the half-made puppets on my still unscrubbed floor – & my stacks of semi-inspected papers. I re-read the NLP course notes of techniques and skills that I long to apply to others; I shrug at semi-hatched plans to publish my haiku into a hard-copy chapbook.

I smile as I sit and meditate this morning. I know that half-whatever will always remain half as I constantly re-vamp my conception of ‘whole’. Half-way along a permanent moving sidewalk still brings enjoyment and chance for growth.

A vacation

refresh body

reshuffle mind

 

Leave a Reply

