Meditation – solo style

For the past almost 3 years, I’ve been lucky enough to supplement my morning at-home meditation sessions with class relax sessions at school with pupils and teachers.

judih in dance of meditation
judih

This has provided me with a kickstart in focus – so badly needed these days. As I interact more and more with others, I find my output of energy increasing. To keep a reserve, I need reminders to halt, to center on my breath. I enjoy the sound of the tibetan singing bowl, a call to come back to my body and my rhythm. So what happens when we go on a Passover break?

Where do I get my built-in reinforcement time when the routine changes?

This is a question that needs addressing. Whether flying overseas with the shifting clock or simply slipping out of regular, trusted schedules, the opportunities for meditation show up in different guises. One needs to recognize the need and grab the chance.

While I transition back to Israeli time, I find myself awake at all kinds of strange hours and then sleepy when I’d normally sit.

My heart races in the early a.m. and it dozes off mid-afternoon. So, when do I choose to meditate?

I’m beginning to see that anytime I think of it, I need to do it! simple! the more, the better.

Will this help me ease jet-lag? Perhaps. Will this help me cope with my fuzzy brain waves? It can’t hurt!

But while I’m away from classroom support systems, I can use my insight timer for spot sessions or listen to the guided meditations of Sharon Salzberg, for example, or any of the other meditations offered. I can chant to Snatam Kaur to keep focus on my voice. I can draw mandalas to engage my sense of colour.

Solo style allows for experimentation. It’s a gift. And it’s a pleasure.

Leave a Reply

